NARIMOTO, Rica 成本理香 (info)

Profile anchor.png

Born in Wakayama, Japan, she completed her M.A. and Doctor of music at Aichi University of the Arts graduating at the top of her class and receiving the University’s prestigious Kuwabara Prize. She is the first person to have received a doctoral degree in the field of composition at that university.  Her music has been performed at many countries, Japan, the Netherlands(Gaudeamus Music Week), Germany, Austria, Egypt(Alexandrina Contemporary Music Biennale), Ukraine(the International Festival of Modern Art TWO DAYS AND TWO NIGHTS OF NEW MUSIC/2D2N), Canada, the United States etc. and she has won a number of important competitions including the 2008 Irino Prize. Her work combines contemporary music composition techniques with the traditional rhythmical structures of the 17th Century Japanese Itchu-Bushi form in order to create abstractions of space and time and produce a unique musical signature. She got a grant from the Asian Cultural Council in the United States and stayed in New York for six-month in 2011, exploring the work of American composers who are known for translating ideas of identity and multiculturalism into distinctive musical styles. At the end of her stay in NY, she had a recital,”Portrait concert : Rica Narimoto”, all works were her compositions including playing her works by herself and it gained popularity. She is currently an associate professor in Aichi University of the Arts, and is a lecturer in Kanazawa University and Kinjo Gakuin University.

和歌山市生まれ。愛知県立芸術大学音楽学部作曲専攻を首席で卒業、桑原賞受賞。同大学院修士課程修了、同大学院博士後期課程修了。同大学初の作曲領域での博士号(音楽)を取得。現音作曲新人賞はじめ様々なコンクールに入選の後、2008年には日本人の受賞は9年ぶりとなる第29回入野賞を受賞。2015年Iron Composer Competition(アメリカ)第3位。大桑教育文化振興財団平成27年度大桑文化奨励賞、平成27年度愛知県芸術文化選奨文化新人賞、平成28年度和歌山県文化表彰文化奨励賞受賞。現代音楽演奏グループ「アンサンブルトゥデイ」のメンバーとしてその解散まで積極的な作曲活動を展開する。また「ing Project」代表として、レクチャーやコンサートの企画を行った。作品は日本のみならずオランダ(ガウデアムス国際音楽週間)をはじめとして、エジプト(アレクサンドリア現代音楽ビエンナーレ)、フランス、オーストリア、ドイツ、ウクライナ(the International Festival of Modern Art, Two Days and Two Nights/2D2N)、アメリカ、カナダ、フィンランドなどの国際フェスティバルやコンサートでも演奏され、ALM RECORDSやCAFUA RecordsよりCDがリリース、ティーダ出版やイタリアのARS PUBLICA社より楽譜が出版されている。アメリカのACC (the Asian Cultural Council)の2010年度Fellowに選ばれ、招聘を受けて2011年渡米、ニューヨークに居住しアメリカの現代音楽と現代芸術に関する調査研究活動を行った。ニューヨーク滞在の終盤には自作自演を含む個展を行い好評を博した。愛知県立芸術大学准教授。金城学院大学、金沢大学各非常勤講師。


  • Limpid Solitude 透明な孤独

(ALM Records/ALCD-55)

(tp)Kiyonori Sokabe曽我部清典

Includes Cloud, The Grave Stone in the Sky 雲の墓標

収録曲:M.カーゲル/ファンファンファーレン、田中吉史/eco lontanissima V、G.シェルシ/4つの小品、J.ケージ/龍安寺、成本理香/雲の墓標、M.カーゲル/OLD/NEW

  • hommage to 20th century pops 2 トキノコダマ2(世紀の谺2)

(ALM Records/ALCD-3066)

(tp)Kiyonori Sokabe曽我部清典, (p)Toshio Nakagawa中川俊郎
Includes My Favorite Things 私のお気に入り


  • Mountain Roads マウンテン・ロード


Masato Kumoi Sax Quartet 雲井雅人サックス四重奏団
Includes J.S.Bach/Rica Narimoto: Partita No.4 In D Major,BWV.828

収録曲:J.S.バッハ=成本理香/パルティータ第4番 ニ長調 BWV 828、ウィリアム・バード=ポール・ハーヴェイ/パヴァーヌと2つのガイヤルドイ短調第2番ソールズベリー伯爵のパヴァーヌ、生野裕久/ミサ・ヴォティーヴァ、J.S.バッハ=雲井雅人/オルガン小曲集より「われら悩みの極みにありて」BWV 641、デイヴィッド・マスランカ/マウンテン・ロード

  • From the Opposite Shore


Boulder Bassoon Quartet 
Includes The Sound of New York

Thomas Kent Hurd:That So Suite, Rica Narimoto:The Sound of New York, Paul Hanson:Bassoon Quartet Number One, Thomas Kent Hurd:Blueish

  • 24 Preludes from Japan 

(stradivarius/STR 37089)

(p) Kumi Uchimoto 内本久美

includes 987 Plates V

  • Festival of Modern Art Two Days and Two Nights of New Music 2008-2018

(Ukrainian Cultural Foundation)

(bass baritone)Rupert Bergmann, (Vn)Yevhen Pihulyak, (Perc)Cristian Orozko, (Pf)Oleksandr Perepelytsia junior

includes The Sound of Water from Basho’s HAIKU English Text by Rica Narimoto